Land Acknowledgment Options

When customising your organization's course for your employees and team, you can include your land acknowledgment or choose to use First Nations University of Canada's.

👤 This article is for the main point of contact for a participating organization.

First Nations University of Canada Land Acknowledgment:

First Nations University of Canada seeks to have an ongoing transformative impact through education based on a foundation of Indigenous Knowledge. 

The Regina campus is situated on the atim kâ-mihkosit (Red Dog) Urban Reserve, Star Blanket Cree Nation and Treaty 4 Territory. Star Blanket is the first First Nation in Canada to create an urban reserve specifically dedicated to the advancement of education. 

Situated on Treaty 4 and 6 Territory, the original lands of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Lakota, Nakoda, and homeland of the Métis Nation.

Many organizations choose to use First Nations University of Canada's land acknowledgement. If you don't have a land acknowledgment, don't worry!

At your request, we can also include the Calgary Foundation video on this page for a learning opportunity about land acknowledgments.

If you'd like to see more examples of land acknowledgments or view a great video by the Calgary Foundation, continue below.

Here are two examples of land acknowledgment: 

Example 1: 

The University of Regina is situated on Treaty 4 lands with a presence in Treaty 6. These are the territories of the nêhiyawak, Anihšināpēk, Dakota, Lakota, and Nakoda, and the homeland of the Métis/Michif Nation. Today, these lands continue to be the shared Territory of many diverse peoples from near and far.

Example 2:

The Calgary Foundation: 

"Spanning generations, acknowledgement of the land is a traditional custom of Indigenous people when welcoming outsiders onto their land and into their homes. To build respectful relationships, acknowledging the land is an important part of reconciliation. It honours the authentic history of North America, its original people and tells the story of the creation of this country that has historically been missing. "

Treaty 7 Territory Land Acknowledgments

Short version
In the spirit of reconciliation, we acknowledge that we live, work and play on the traditional territories of the Blackfoot Confederacy (Siksika, Kainai, Piikani), the Tsuut’ina, the Îyâxe Nakoda Nations, the Métis Nation (Region 3), and all people who make their homes in the Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta.

Long version
In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge Moh’kinsstis and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Blackfoot confederacy: Siksika, Kainai, Piikani as well as the Îyâxe Nakoda and Tsuut’ina nations. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3 within the historical Northwest Métis homeland.  Finally, we acknowledge all Nations, Indigenous and non, who live, work and play and help us steward this land, honour and celebrate this territory.

This sacred gathering place provides us with an opportunity to engage in and demonstrate leadership on reconciliation. Thank you for your enthusiasm and commitment to join our team on the lands of Treaty 7 territory.


With permission from the Calgary Foundation: see their example on their website